The Corporation of the Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands Minutes of a Regular Council meeting held Tuesday, January 8, 2019 in the Waterfront Artisan Incubator and Technology Center at 7:00p.m.

PRESENT: Mayor Al MacNevin, Councillors: Barb Baker, Al Boyd, Mike Erskine, Jim Ferguson, William

Koehler, Dawn Orr and Bruce Wood

ABSENT: Councillor Laurie Cook

STAFF PRESENT: David Williamson, CAO

Pam Cress, Clerk

Mayor MacNevin called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Disclosure of pecuniary interest and the general nature thereof - Nil

Deputation by Manitoulin Brewing Company – Explanation of two events the Manitoulin Brewing Company are working on

Resolution No. 01-01-2019

Moved by: J. Ferguson Seconded by: B. Wood

RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands approves the agenda, as amended.

Carried

Resolution No. 02-01-2019

Moved by: M. Erskine Seconded by: A. Boyd

RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands reads a first, second and third time and finally passes By-Law No 2019-01to adopt the minutes of Council for the term commencing December 4, 2018 and authorizing the taking of any action authorized therein and thereby.

Carried

Resolution No. 03-01-2019

Moved by: B. Wood Seconded by: M. Erskine

RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands reads a first, second and third time and finally passes By-Law No 2019-02 for the borrowing of money from TD Canada Trust.

Carried

Resolution No. 04-01-2019

Moved by: B. Baker Seconded by: A. Boyd

RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands reads a first, second and third time and finally passes By-Law No 2019-03 to provide for an Interim Tax Levy and interest rate.

Carried

Resolution No. 05-01-2019

Moved by: D. Orr Seconded by: M. Erskine

RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands appoints the following people to the Library Board – Mike Easton, John Royal, Paula Hooper, Rosemary Burnett, Karen Nesbitt, Ned Martin, Nina Coates and Maureen Armstrong.

Carried

Resolution No. 06-01-2019

Moved by: J. Ferguson Seconded by: D. Orr

RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands appoints the following people to the Museum Board – Marcel Gauthier, Carol Sheppard and Pat Julig

Carried

The Corporation of the Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands Minutes of Council

Page 2 **Resolution No. 07-01-2019** Moved by: W. Koehler Seconded by: A. Boyd RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands appoints proceeds In Camera. Carried **Resolution No. 08-01-2019** Moved by: A. Boyd Seconded by: M. Erskine RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands does now Rise and Report. Carried **Resolution No. 09-01-2019** Moved by: D. Orr Seconded by: B. Wood RESOLVED THAT the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands do now adjourn at 8:16 p.m. Carried Al MacNevin Mayor Pam Cress Clerk